USPL Reviews Provided by
Hibernation Station
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating: 479 reviews
Stay somewhere else!
User: Niki E from:
Published Date: Jul, 26, 2025
Travel Date: Jul, 1, 2025
Rating: 1
We were looking forward to this stay and initially, as we pulled into the property it seemed to be well kept and lovely. Once we drove around the back to our cabin and started looking around, it was clear that the rest of the property, not along the road, was in disrepair. Weeds and trash were apparent, porches and roofs needed replacement, and swallows were living in nooks and crannies of several cabins including ours. The inside of our cabin was great- roomy and comfortable, so we were at least glad for that. They also have employees living at the back of the property in trailers and cabins and the area was unkept. It was also next to the playground (most had yellow tape/was broken) which felt creepy. I would not have let my kid play in that playground. The spa was also gross and in desperate need of chemicals which was a bummer. We were looking forward to a soak after a day of hiking. One morning we woke up to a man just outside our window, on our porch, smoking and charging his phone and lingering. We learned he was a maintenance worker, but it was pretty unprofessional. No warning, no uniform, no way to know who he was without asking. When we told the front office, another worker responded with, “it’s completely normal and acceptable to smoke in many other countries”. Okay. My biggest gripe with this place is that we were significantly overcharged. We had already paid in full a year ago, yet were charged again along with a $500 charge that we were told was a hold. Okay. When we called to get this resolved, the front office said they could not help and provided the manager’s contact info. He did not respond for 2 days do we had to call our credit card company to dispute the charges. Then they charged us again. Long story short, after 2 days of contacting the manager and our credit card company, it was finally resolved. This is not something anyone wants to deal with, especially while on vacation! I think this place could be awesome with better management. But as-is, there is no way I would recommend this place or stay here again. Wayyyy too overpriced and incompetent management.
Subratings:

Nice but needs some updates and maintenance.
User: friskybug from: Olean, New York
Published Date: Jul, 21, 2025
Travel Date: Jun, 1, 2025
Rating: 3
We stayed for 3 nights in a Family Cabin, South Fork series, which served our party of 5 adults comfortably with 3 queen beds and a kitchen area. The log cabin vibe was pretty cool and the staff was helpful and friendly. We did enjoy the hot tub area and appreciated the lodge area in that building. However our 2 story cabin definitely seemed to have some foundation and plumbing issues. the floor was sagging wherever the walls met it. Doorways were about an inch higher in the center of the threshold than where it met the floor, so it was hard to latch the doors. The refigerator was 2 inches away from the wall at the bottom and touching it at the top. Water dripped down from the bathroom ceiling from the unit above. We could hear every footstep as the occupants climbed the exterior stairs and walked around in that unit.
Subratings:

Best value with a kitchen and closest to West Yellwstone entrance.
User: SLmom from: Houston, Texas
Published Date: Jul, 20, 2025
Travel Date: May, 1, 2025
Rating: 5
We stayed in the South Fork 2 Bedroom Cabin Memorial Day weekend. We booked it with some sale for certain cabins so it was $300/night plus tax. It was little bit of a wierd set up, but it more than met our needs for 3 of us. Much cheaper than the Yellowstone lodge accross the street and the Small kitchen was perfect for quick meals. They had a hot tub but we didn't use it since we spent most of our time inside the park from dawn to dusk. No complaints other than once someone was parked in our parking spot. We parked very close to them and they eventually moved figuring out it was our spot. I had read that could be a problem. We spent a couple of nights afterwards in lodging inside the park and that is way more expensive for what you get, but you are paying for location of course. Nothing is inexpensive in the area so keep that in perspective for everything you book. I was happy we stayed a few nights outside the park here, and then splurged on a couple of nights inside the park for location to not waste an hour of driving back and forth.
Subratings:

Good stay close to the park entrance.
User: sosterlagkage from:
Trip Type: Couples
Published Date: Jul, 3, 2025
Travel Date: Jul, 1, 2025
Rating: 3
Ok cabins, the bed was comfortable. only with a microwave, no kitchen, but still have pots in the inventory. The staff was friendly and the WiFi worked as it should. Not so great surroundings, but as a sleep over it is fine. They had a list of recommended places to eat, which came in handy. A bit expensive.

Book elsewhere
User: victoriabts from: Victoria, Canada
Published Date: May, 29, 2025
Travel Date: Jan, 1, 2025
Rating: 1
My family and I were really looking forward to staying at Hibernation Station during our Yellowstone visit. However, our plans changed. Despite giving them over 4 month's notice (booked Jan for June, cancelled Feb), HS elected to keep one night's stay ($560 USD) as per their cancellation policy, which I admit I misread as it's poorly written and easy to misunderstand. When I tried to contact them MULTIPLE times to discuss, I received no response from Wyatt Mann, the GM, despite being promised by their staff he would respond. My advice would be to steer clear of any business that doesn't offer a reasonable cancellation policy in a highly desirable vacation area (as other nearby accommodations do) and chooses 'ghosting' as a customer relations policy. In hindsight, I wished I'd waited until 31 days before to cancel, because if they're going to keep my money then at least I could try to prevent them from re-booking and making double the money. Here I thought I was being courteous giving them immediate notice! Lesson learned. We will still visit Yellowstone someday, but we sure won't be booking at Hibernation Station.
Subratings:

© TripAdvisor 2025