USPL Reviews Provided by
The Ranch at Death Valley
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating: 6273 reviews
Overpriced and Outdated
User: Colin607 from: London, United Kingdom
Trip Type: Family
Published Date: Dec, 16, 2018
Travel Date: Nov, 1, 2018
Rating: 1
tried to book in November. Rooms were totally overpriced and they have absolutely no tolerance for pets. They are in the 18th Century and, IMHO, only survive because of the lack of competition in the area. I would highly recommend you NOT stay there. Drive on to the next closest available accommodation.

Felt a bit ripped off
User: whugirl from: Watford, United Kingdom
Trip Type: Friends getaway
Published Date: Dec, 14, 2018
Travel Date: Oct, 1, 2018
Rating: 3
I stayed here years ago and absolutely loved it so I was excited to be going back. However, it has grown an awful lot and we had to drive around looking for our block. It was then on the first floor with no lift and we had the furthest room down the corridor. The room was ok and very comfortable beds but the aircon made such a noise we had to turn it off. The view from the room was lovely but in such a beautiful location it would be hard not to be! We drove from LA thinking we'd get something nice to eat in arrival and we were absolutely starving. There was no choice other than the buffet so they've got you to ransom. The price was extortionate. The food that was there was ok but for a buffet there wasn't much choice. Overall, it was an ok stay in a great place and I imagine most people only stay a night or two so it's fine for that.

A shame
User: AliceT2492 from:
Trip Type: Family
Published Date: Dec, 12, 2018
Travel Date: Dec, 1, 2018
Rating: 1
Firstable absolutely no indication to reach the cabin. I ask a employee of the hotel where is my room. he said: At stop on the right... We arrived in a place where no body lives. He just B........ me. In the room, the heater is so loud that we could not sleep, so we turn it off, and we freeze. The room was not clean. The furniture are so old that they dust on the ground. Telephone of the room did not work, so i must go by feet at the reception to ask for a cleaning room service. I went two times, at 5:00 pm the room was not made !!? this hotel is a shame for hostelerie, it's a pity cause the area of Death valley is so beautiful.
Subratings:

Rooms were OK but paper thin walls.
User: Larry M from: Fallbrook, California
Published Date: Dec, 11, 2018
Travel Date: Dec, 1, 2018
Rating: 3
You can hear your neighbors clearly talking next door and slamming doors constantly. If you can afford it stay at the Inn at Death Valley across the road up the hill. Do not eat at the Buffet as it is a TOTAL ripoff for $30 a person. Overcooked dry chicken, skimpy salad selection, canned fruit, packaged dressing, and vegetables heavily dusted with oregano. There is no excuse because they had fresh fruit and salads in the Store in the same building and the food was excellent at the Inn at Death Valley.

Poor Customer Service
User: lphamm from: Baltimore, MD
Trip Type: Family
Published Date: Dec, 10, 2018
Travel Date: Nov, 1, 2018
Rating: 2
I recently stayed at the property for 2 nights surrounding the Death Valley Marathon. Unfortunately myself and the other 6 guests did not have a pleasant experience with the dining facilities. We arrived on 11/30 and tried to go to the Saloon for dinner at 6 pm, we were told it was an 1:45 wait and the buffet was suggested. We had 3 people who were running the marathon the next day and we could not wait for them to eat. We went to the buffet and were very disappointed in what was served for the $30 fee. There was nothing on there that was appropriate for the runners and I would imagine that most of the reservations that evening were related to the marathon. It was as if your staff did not even know there was a marathon taking place the next day and that you were the headquarter hotel. At least one type of pasta would have been appreciated and the other items were certainly not worth the cost. There did not seem to be any coordination between the hotel and the management of the race. The next night, after the run, we tried to go to dinner at 5 pm when they opened. We were told that we could not get a table before 5, even if we just wanted to order drinks and appetizers and then dinner at 5. Even though they do not take reservations they put our name on a waitlist and we were second behind a party of 14. We went back up at 5 pm and a different host told us that she could not seat us because the party of 14 had not yet arrived. This didn't make any sense since the restaurant obviously holds more that 14 people. There was an excuse that the waitress could not handle 2 large parties at one time, but we would have been seated and ordered before the other party even arrived. We asked for a manager who was not much more helpful except they did then put together 2 tables in the main area and sat us. I have worked in the customer service industry for many years and the way the staff treated their guests was not at all industry standard! I understand that they are the only game in town but that does not mean that they can serve subpar food and have staff that is either not properly trained or rude to their guests.
Subratings:

© TripAdvisor 2018